Railways: total: 11,106 km

Standard gauge: 8,273 km of 1,435 mm (4 ft 8 1⁄2 in) gauge (146 km electrified) (2006)

Broad gauge: 94 km of 1,676 mm (5 ft 6 in) gauge (connected to Pakistan Railways)

Free ways: total:

 Iran has about 2,160 kilometers (1,340 mi) of freeway


Roadways and automobiles: Total: 172,927 km (2006)[10]

Paved: 125,908 km (includes 1,429 km of expressways)

Unpaved: 47,019 km

Note: There were more than 11 million vehicles in Iran by 2010 mostly manufactured or assembled locally.


Ports and harbors:

As at 2015, the Kharg oil terminal is handling about 90% of Iran’s crude exports.

The capacity of container loading and unloading in the country’s ports is currently at 4.4 million, which will increase to 7 million by the end of 2015. Port capacity will increase to 200 million tons in 2015 from 150 million tons in 2010


Airports and airlines:

There are 54 “major” airports in Iran (2008): 8 international, 21-air border, and 25 domestic


Highways: Total: 30,855 km (2010)

Paved: 94,162 km (1997)

Unpaved: 71,562 km (1997)

Major Public Holidays:

Iranian New Year (Nowrouz) 20 March to 04 April.


Map & Geography:

Location: 32 00 N. 53 00 E – Middle East. Iran is situated in south-western Asia and borders three CIS states (the republics of Armenia, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan), as well as the Caspian Sea to the north, Turkey and Iraq to the west, the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman to the south and Pakistan and Afghanistan to the east.



Total area: 1.648 million sq. km Land area: 1.636 million sq. km

Land boundaries:

Arable land: 8 percent Permanent crops: 0 percent Meadows and pastures: 27 percent Forest and woodland: 11 percent Other: 54 percent Irrigated land: 57,500 sq. km (1989 est.)



Name of country : Islamic Republic of Iran (Jomhuriy-e Islamiy-e Iran)

Capital: Tehran Administrative divisions: 28 provinces (ostanha, singular: ostan); Ardebil, Azarbaijan-e Gharbi, Azarbaijan-e Sharqi,Boushehr,  Chahar Mahal va Bakhtiari, Fars, Golestan,Gilan, Hamedan, Hormozgan, Isfahan, Ilam, Kerman,Kermanshahan, Khorassan, Khouzestan,Kurdestan, Kohkilouyeh va Buyer Ahmad, Lorestan, Markazi (Central),Qazvin, Mazandaran, Qom,Semnan,Sistan va Balouchestan, Tehran, Yazd.